Thursday, February 18, 2010

WE'RE RICH!!!

Have you ever seen Indecent Proposal with Demi Moore, Woody Harrelson, and Robert Redford? If you have, I'm sure that you are familiar with the scene where she rolls around in the money on the bed. Well, in the next few days, I am going to post a picture of myself doing the same thing... Only I will be rolling in diapers... And I will be clothed.

Allow me to explain. Yesterday morning Ryan and I were still snoozing when we heard a car horn honking in our driveway. Ryan jumped up and went to the door where he was greeted by the mailman delivering 'certified mail', which generally, is never a good thing. After signing, he came in the house and said, "It is from Huggies." I immediately knew at that point that it had to be something good. He handed me a large manila envelope that I proceeded to rip open. Its contents were nearly as valuable as gold... 48 FREE DIAPER COUPONS!!! Honestly, I am still excited!

So, in conclusion, I told Ryan that I was going to throw (clean)diapers on the bed and roll around in them! Just maybe, if you are lucky, there will be a Wordless Wednesday picture...

 
Posted by Picasa



If you are a mom, dad, grandparent or guardian, take a few minutes and register on www.enjoytheriderewards.com. That is all you have to do. When you register, you are automatically entered to win and they draw one winner everyday. I never thought I'd win anything but, taking a couple of minutes really paid off this time!

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

S[n]o[w] it continues...



Since this has been the snowiest January/February that south-central Kentucky has seen in several years, Knox and I have been finding fun things to do at home! That is - when the pipes aren't frozen - and in those instances, we are home but fun is the last thing on the list. We expected crappy things to happen when we became home-owners but, it seems as though since we bought our house, there is something wrong at least every-other week.

Anyway, back to the fun stuff. Knox is crawling and learning to pull up on the couch/chairs/play pen. I can't count on my fingers and toes how many times he has thumped his head in the last 2 weeks. It is a really good thing that Ryan and I both have hard heads... I have been painting and cooking and working on puzzles. I pretty much live a life of sheer excitement! Here are some of the pictures I have painted; the first was for a baby shower - it is pre-personalized, the second- I originally started to paint for my bedroom but, gave to my brother and new sister-in-law. The 'M' is for their last name.




I'm thinking I may start selling some of these on eBay... I could do them to order and I really enjoy painting so why not make some money doing it - right?!

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Friday, February 5, 2010

"Damnedest thing I've ever seen..."

Okay, I must start out by saying that the following story is so ridiculous that I could not have made it up. This evening, Ryan, Knox, and I went to eat dinner at a local Mexican restaurant with my aunt, uncle and cousin. Afterwards, we needed to get a few groceries because I have a few appetizers to make for a party tomorrow. Knox went home with the family while Ryan and I spent a romantic 45 minutes at Walmart. While driving to pick Knox up, we decided to stop at Baskin Robbins for some ice cream and a few minutes alone to chat. If you have children, you know that to be good parents, you need to spend a little time alone without having to worry about a dirty diaper. So in our town, all of our stoplights on the strip or the "Main Artery of Somerset", permit U-turns... And well after the snow we had last week, there are huge piles of ice from where the snow melted, refroze, has been rained on, refroze - you get the idea. Here I am making my u-turn when, Ryan says, "Honey, you are hitting the snow." By the time I realize what is happening, Saturn Vue is about to tip over on its side. The driver side is in the air, embanked on this pile of ice/snow... and the car is literally at a 45 degree angle.

The fun is only beginning at this point. I cry. I laugh. I cry some more. This had to be the dumbest thing I have EVER done. I was humiliated. Then, the police show up. They make the situation better by walking around the car then talking and laughing amongst themselves saying things like, "That is the damnedest thing I've ever seen!" and "I've been working here 8 years and NEVER seen anything like this!" Laugh it up, boys, I couldn't do this again if I tried! My uncle comes in his truck with shovels and ice picks. After maybe 5 minutes of work, we come to the realization that we are going to have to be pulled off or towed. The police have one lane of traffic closed and cars are going by slow cause they, too, have never seen the likes. I'm sure somewhere on the Internet there are pictures from cell phone cameras because we attempted but it was too dark and you can't see. (Which I am thankful for cause that means there is no hard evidence.) Suddenly, a life-saver in a Suburban pulls up and volunteers a tow rope. I am skeptical. Frankly, it looks as though a gust of wind could blow the car on its side. But it works! I don't know the man, didn't get his name, but I am forever thankful; It is nice to know that there are still some good people in the world.

Honestly, had I had my camera or video camera, I could have won America's Funniest Home Videos. I wish that I could explain the image better because you can't appreciate the craziness of it all without seeing it. However, I'm glad that there isn't hard proof. I'd be willing to bet it will not be soon forgotten by police officers Creech and Patterson or the passers-by on 27 tonight.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Rachael Ray's 30 Minutes Meals meets Semi-Homemade w/ Sandra Lee

Last night we had our friends, Bural and Monica, over for dinner. They are our "couple" friends... you know, our go-to people. Not to mention, they are Sadie's guardians, if Ryan and I should die at the same time(knock wood). We determined that it is harder to find someone to raise your dog the way you would than it is to find someone to raise your kid. Just kidding. Back to the point. So I made a quick and easy alternative to chili during cold weather. Pizza soup is a favorite in our house and is actually Bural's overall favorite soup. We had them with grilled provolone cheese sandwiches. I thought I would share the soup recipe though because it is SO versatile and if you can open a can/jar, you can make it.

2 jars of pizza sauce
4 cans tomato soup
2 cups small dry pasta(radiatore/macaroni)
whatever pizza toppings you like IE: pepperoni, ham, sausage, green peppers, onions, mushrooms, pineapple, etc.

Cook your pasta in the sauce, when pasta is almost done, add in toppings. If you are adding vegetables with more firmness, such as green peppers, you may want to let those simmer longer so to soften them. In our house we basically do meats because Ryan won't eat vegetables. I throw in about 6 thick slices of pepperoni diced, the ham you can buy already cubed in packages, and last night I browned hamburger to add. We add shredded mozzarella and grated Parmesan individually when serving. It is really good with a crusty bread, grilled cheese, or croutons.

Like I said, SO easy and SUPER fast... (I feel like Rachael Ray or Sandra Lee). Have fun with it and be creative!

Monday, February 1, 2010

If It Isn't One Thing...

I realize it has been several days since I have had a chance to enlighten everyone... The last blog I wrote was talking about the possibility of snow. Well, it did. We got around 7 inches! Now, for all of the other excitement that has happened since my last post...




On Friday, we were planning to have my cousin, Dakota, a surprise birthday dinner. He turned 16 yesterday. He had surgery on his elbow 3 days before Christmas, bone graft, pins and all, and has been wearing a cast ever since. Anyhow, we were all supposed to be there at the restaurant at 5:30. It started snowing at 5. So, we made it to dinner... slipping and sliding. When we got home and closed the garage door, we decided we were not leaving the house until today. Yeah, right.

Saturday was mostly uneventful. We slept late. Ate all day since that is what you do when you are bored or snowed in the house. (Even though we weren't "snowed in".) Then decided to go sledding with the family. It was fun but, the hill was really steep and quite frankly, I am too lazy to hike it. Therefore, after about 5 trips down, I was finished. Ryan, on the other hand, toughed it out and in turn, paid for it today.

Yesterday is when all hell broke loose! Let me begin by saying we are new home-owners. We have been in our home for nearly 4 months. We have had a problem with our kitchen pipes freezing... and well, yesterday we had one bust. Ryan and I had been turning the hot water on every few hours and allowing it to run for, maybe, 5 minutes. Little good did that do. Anyway, after most of the day yesterday and 4 men working, it still wasn't fixed. Keep in mind that we had to keep our water turned off because if not, it was shooting out the wall. Luckily, the pipe that busted was behind our dishwasher and so, although the drywall had to be cut, it IS hidden. This morning, my father-in-law came to finish the job. Much to our chagrin, the cold water pipe was frozen. Three and a half hours later the job was complete. Don't worry, we now have working water, and thankfully, no leaks... That we know of.



In the midst of all of this, Knox is also cutting a tooth. His first tooth. It is just through the gum but, will hopefully be all the way in within a few days. I'll be sure to post a picture first thing. And then, being the terrible mother that I am... he fell over and hit his head on the computer tonight, while crawling. This resulted in a bruise over his left eyebrow and I determined that he will probably keep bruises from this point on because after all, he is a boy.

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Let it Snow!

Okay, even though it will say that I posted this at like 9:00pm, it is really almost midnight here in south-central Kentucky... where we are preparing ourselves for what could turn out to be around 8 inches of snow. I realize to some this may not sound like that much but, we haven't had a snow that deep for AT LEAST 12 to 15 years. In preparation my husband, Ryan, and I went to the grocery. It took nearly 2 hours. Need I say more? Of course, we knew it would be bad but, we weren't scared of being snowed in, we just had NO FOOD in our house. We also loaded up on firewood because we have a fireplace in our family room and... In this type of weather/cold temperatures, we sleep in front of the fireplace. We pull our sectional couches together and make them face each other to create a bed. Ryan, Knox, Sadie, and I adventure sleep on our couch-bed, which we have dubbed, "Cozy-Hole". Ridiculous. I know. I don't mind because it is warm and cozy and snuggly and I love it. Hopefully, I will have some awesome pictures to post of our snow... and if not, well then, I guess I'll expose the world to "Cozy-Hole"!

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Never say Never...

I have done something I said I would never do. I have entered my child into a cute baby contest... I have said since his birth that I didn't need someone else to tell me that my baby was cute - because I know he is perfect. But, I did it. I entered him into a picture contest. This will be the least damaging to his self-esteem... Who am I kidding? My self-esteem. The prize is $250, which isn't a lot but, will buy several cases of diapers and formula.

So this is the picture I entered... Entitled "Deep Thoughts by Knox"



Next, I have a blogging friend who uses Wednesdays to post pictures - She calls it Wordless Wednesday. This may be something that all bloggers do but, as I said before, this is all Greek to me! So with that being said, although this post DOES have words, I want to post a couple of pictures that were taken while I blogged last night.


Tuesday, January 26, 2010

The Loss of my Blogging "Virginity"

So, as a newcomer to the blogging scene, I haven't the first idea where to begin... Honestly, there are too many places for me to start. I guess I could tell you about me, but as this blog takes on a life you will learn enough - quite possibly more than you ever wanted to. Although, I'm probably boring you thus far, I promise to make more of an effort to be entertaining. You must understand that at this point in my day, exhaustion is kicking in, and as the mother of an 8 month old little man named Knox, the excitement is only beginning. Allow me to share - Knox likes to party all night or at least until 1am and well, that is not conducive to being clever at 9pm. From this point, I'll attempt to write earlier in the day so as to have more creative juices flowing, and hang on 'cause this could be a wild and bumpy ride!!